Skip to main content
Alerts: The ACT-IAC website will be undergoing system maintenance on 2/25 between the hours of 5 PM and 2 AM.  During this time functions such as event registration will be limited or unavailable.

You are here

2019 Partner Challenge: Workforce Management at SBA: Building a Culture of Innovation and Transformation

2019 Partner Challenge: Workforce Management at SBA: Building a Culture of Innovation and Transformation

Monday, October 21, 2019 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Imagine Nation Theater
Mission Modernization

This session will demonstrate how the use of the Awareness, Desire, Knowledge, Ability, Reinforcement (ADKAR) methodology and non-attributable surveys can be productively used to determine the level of engagement across the Federal workforce. The session will also cover examples of how to improve engagement including developing Communities of Interest (COI), establishment of a framework to award or recognize employees in front of peers and direct reports, peer recognition, and implementing a change management approach that connects people across CXO, IT, training, program, contracts, etc. to get everyone moving in the same direction. We will use a case-study approach focused on best practices at the Small Business Administration to provide illustrative examples of this approach.

Learning Objectives: 

  • Understanding common IT workforce management challenges of matrixed IT organizations representative of most Federal agencies.
  • Methods to improve IT employee engagement, encourage broader participation in learning management initiatives, and align new training initiatives to emergent agency priorities.
  • Using an IT modernization case study from SBA, attendees will learn how to determine if their employees are engaged and approaches to developing non-attributable surveys or interviews with staff

Challenge Team:
Pankaj Sharma, Rigil Corporation
Don Fenhagen, IBM Global Business Services
Kyle Tuberson, ICF
Rod Volz, Solutions By Design II LLC
Nydia Roman-Albertorio, General Service Administration
Chris Jordan, US House of Representatives
LaKeisha McClendon, Food and Drug Administration
George Nicol, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Michelle White, General Servcies Administration